• 'Plastic rice' seized in Nigeria

    Nigeria has confiscated 2.5 tonnes of "plastic rice" smuggled into the country by unscrupulous businessmen, the customs service says.

    Lagos customs chief Haruna Mamudu said the fake rice was intended to be sold in markets during the festive season.He said the rice was very sticky after it was boiled and "only God knows what would have happened" if people ate it.

    It is not clear where the seized sacks came from but rice made from plastic pellets was found in China last year. Rice is the most popular staple food in Nigeria.The BBC's Peter Okwoche says it is the only foodstuff that crosses cultural and ethnic lines across the country.

    source : bbc 

    read more http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-38391998 


    Read more »
  • Ethiopia’s gov’t spokesman decried the election of Trump to lead the U.S

    Ethiopia’s newly sworn in government spokesman, Negeri Lencho, said the election of Donald Trump is not good both for his country and for the African continent as a whole and has described him as ‘an extremely neo- liberalist.’ According to him, Trump is ‘always inward looking’ with less care for the rest of the world.

    “I don’t think the election of Trump will benefit Africa,” Negeri said adding that he was wishing Secretary Hillary Clinton could win the 2016 US election. “First, he is only interested in trade deals that only benefit the United States. Second, his immigration policy could affect thousands of Ethiopians who live in the United States. And finally, his political tactics are dangerous.”

    According to Negeri, Tump may change some of his hard- line policies once he occupies the White House in January. He has described the current U.S- Ethiopian relations as ‘very good’ and ‘longstanding.’

    EthioNewsflash Exclusive News (Ethionewsflash.com)


    Read more »
  • Ethiopian Plane makes emergency landing at Lahore airport


    LAHORE: A foreign airliner made an emergency landing at Lahore's Allama Iqbal airport on Tuesday, airport sources informed.

    The airline flight 605 was en route to Beijing from Ethiopia when it had to make an emergency landing in Lahore due to shortage of fuel, the sources said.

    The plane is carrying 335 passengers, including Chinese and African passengers.Earlier today, a private Indian airline plane made an emergency landing at Karachi airport after a passenger on board fell sick.

    Read more »
  • House approves new cabinets


    House of People's Representatives (HPR) has unanimously approved the new cabinets proposed by Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn on the basis of their competence and commitment.

    The Premier scrapped the previous posts cluster coordinator with the rank of deputy Prime Minister and advisor to the Prime Minister

     Cabinet members who remained in their previous posts:-

     1.  Deputy Prime Minister Demeke Mekonnen

     2.  Siraj Fegessa – Minister of Defense

     3.  Kassa Tekleberhan- Minister of Federal Affairs and Pastoral Area Development

     4. Dr Debretsion Gebremichael –Minister of Communication and Information Technology

     5.  Ahmed Abitew –Minister of Industry

     6.  Getachew Ambaye- Attorney General

     7.  Abdulfetah Abdulah - Minister of Labor and Social Affairs

     8.  Dr Yinager Dese- Commissioner of National Planning Commission

     9.  Asmelash Woldesilasie – Chief Government Whip

    Newly appointed cabinet members

    1.   Dr Workneh Gebeyehu – Minister of Foreign Affairs

    2.  Tagese Chafo- Minister of Public Service and Human Resource Development

    3.  Dr Abreham Tekeste- Minister of Finance and Economic Cooperation

    4.  Dr Bekele Gulado- Minister of Trade

    5.  Professor Fekadu Beyene- Minister of Livestock and Fishery 

    6.  Dr Eyasu  Abrha- Minister of Farming and Natural resources

    7.  Dr Engineer Getahun Mekuria- Minister of Science and Technology

    8.  Ahmed Shide- Minister of Transport

    9.  Dr Ambachew Mekonnen- Minister of Urban Development and Housing

    10.  Engineer Aisha Mohammed- Minister of Construction

    11.  Dr. Engineer  Sileshi Bekele- Minister of Water, Irrigation and Eelectricity

    12.  Motuma Mekassa- Minister of Mines Petroleum and Natural Resources

    13.  Dr Gemedo Dale- Minister of Environmental, Forest and Climate Change

    14.  Dr Shiferaw Tekelemariam – Minister of Education

    15.   Professor Yifru Berhane- Minister of Health

    16.  Dr Girma Amente- Minister of Public Enterprise

    17.   Dr Hirut Woldemariam- Minister of Culture and Tourism

    18.   Demitu Hambissa- Minister of Women’s and Children’s Affairs

    19.  Ristu Yirdaw- Minister of Youth and Sports

    20.  Kebede Chane- Minister of Ethiopian Revenues and Costumes Authority

    21.  Dr Negeri Lencho- Minister of Government Communication Affairs Office


    Source FBC

    Read more »